Kaleemullah strikes Essa Khan in Leisure Leagues' first friendly encounter

Kaleemullah 7 ousts Essa Khan 7 2-0 in Leisure Leagues friendly encounter.

A friendly game organized by Leisure Leagues (the world’s largest organizer of 5, 6 and 7-a-side leagues) saw Kaleemullah’s team come out on top against former Pakistan skipper Essa Khan’s side with BG Sports striker Saadullah and Women’s team captain Hajra Khan notching a goal each.

Organized at the Karachi United Football Foundation (KUFF), the event was graced by PFF Women’s Wing Head Senator Rubina Irfan and Sindh FA President Khadim Ali Shah and attended by a number of football fans who jostled to get a glimpse at their heroes.

Proceedings started brightly with both sides showcasing a wide variety of tricks to please the crowd, but it was Kaleemullah and co. who struck first blood, with Pakistan International Saadullah finishing off a brilliant move made by KRL’s Zia-us-Salam.

A rendition of Waka-Waka at half-time entertained the crowd and while Essa Khan’s team tried their best to get back into the game, Hajra Khan killed off any chances of a comeback after keeping her composure whilst one-on-one with goalkeeper Ghulam Nabi.

Following a prize distribution ceremony, Senator Rubina Irfan added that such ventures into the football sector were very important and bode well for the country’s football future.

“Leisure Leagues is a great initiative and is the first venture in Pakistan that organizes football in a professional manner. It will help young talent hone their skills and give them a platform that was missing before,” added ex-captain Essa Khan.

Kaleemullah also held similar opinions and claimed that Leisure Leagues could help Pakistan become a better team in the future.

“Youngsters have never had a platform for football. This is the first time such a league has arrived in Pakistan. I myself will also try to play in it if possible,” added the Tulsa Roughnecks striker.

Kaleemullah 7: Kaleemullah, Hajra Khan, Mohammad Adil, Zia-us-Salam, Ahsanullah, Mohammad Ahmed, Saqib Hanif (GK), Saadullah

Essa Khan 7: Essa Khan, Ghulam Nabi (GK), Mohammad Rasool, Murtaza Hussain, Sohaila Zarmeen, Qadeer, Yasir Afridi, Abdul Aziz and Mohammad Riaz.